NEW YORK — The PR Council has named its 2022 officers and board members, including FleishmanHillard global COO and Americas president J.J. Carter, who has been elected chair.

Carter will be leading the board’s efforts and help the organization provide support to its member agencies. Carter previously served as vice chair. He replaces Hotwire global CEO Heather Kernahan.

Carter said the PRC’s plans include helping agencies recruit and retain employees amid the current talent shortage, which includes positioning communications as an attractive industry to work in.

“The ascendancy of our discipline during these challenging times has fueled our member agencies to add new products and services and deliver strong year-over-year growth,” Carter said. “To accommodate this growth, attracting and retaining diverse and high performing talent has never been more critical."

Carter will be joined on board by vice chair Ellen Ryan Mardiks, Golin’s global chairman; secretary Teneshia Jackson Warner, CEO of EGAMI Group; and treasurer Mike Santoro, CEO of Walker Sands.

New board members include C+C co-founder Julie Colehour; Praytell founder Andy Pray; Evoke Kyne Group COO Maryellen Royle; WE Communications global COO and international president Kass Sells; Wilbron president & CEO Brandon Wilson; and James Wright, global CEO of Red Havas and global chairman of Havas PR Global Collective.