LONDON — The inaugural UK/Europe Young Changemakers award, in partnership with WE Communications, was won by H+K London's Sofiat Kolawole at last week's EMEA SABRE Awards. 

The Young Changemakers award celebrates the next generation of communications leaders, helping to launch the careers of up-and-comers, and creating better equity and more opportunity for those in marginalized groups.

Kolawole was praised by judges for her work as part of H+K's Better Impact team, which helps brands align to the UN Sustainable Development Goals. She is also a member of the firm's EquALL team, which helps create a louder culture of equity, and advises clients on DE&I strategies, while driving H+K London’s diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives.

“Sofiat is one of H+K’s rising stars," said H+K corporate affairs and advisory MD Tanya Joseph. "She brings her passion for purpose-led impactful work to clients across our business. Part of our EquAll initiative, a mentor to others, and a WPP Mental Health Ally, she also champions DE&I and wellbeing at H+K. We are very proud and lucky to have her."

Kolawole was selected as the Young Changemaker award recipient by a specially convened jury panel that comprised:

Menreet Kaur, head of PR & integrated campaigns, eBay
Sanjani Shah, global head of PR, The Body Shop
Sasha Watson, people director, Moonpig
Maja Pawinska Sims, associate editor EMEA, PRovoke Media
Jane Le, senior writer, WE

The award received several submissions from diverse young, female communicators in UK/Europe.

"This award is about the chance to create that change and give those kinds of opportunities to people who may not have had them ever before — people who are brave enough really to shout out what all of us here in this room could do better to move the industry forward in bold and new directions," said WE global CEO Melissa Waggener Zorkin.

Awards are given annually – one per region in North America, UK/Europe, APAC/MEA – in alignment with regional SABRE Award ceremonies. Entries for APAC/MEA will open soon.

For more details, please visit the award's FAQ.