NEW YORK — Edelman, FleishmanHillard, Golin, Ketchum and Weber Shandwick are the five finalists for PRovoke Media's 2023 Large Agency of the Year in North America, alongside 59 more firms that have been shortlisted today across a further 12 categories.

The North American Agency of the Year Awards recognize the best firms in specific size categories and in specific disciplines. In all, 64 firms — from giant multinationals to small local specialists — are nominated across the 13 Agency of the Year categories, reflecting what was probably the most competitive year in its history.

With public relations firms increasingly called on for a broader range of capabilities, deeper strategic counsel and stronger social impact, there was a noticeable uplift in fee income and the quality of work across all categories. Accordingly, many contenders failed to make the shortlist this year, despite reporting creditable growth numbers. 

In addition, rising fee income levels meant that the parameters for Agency of the Year size categories have been revised. Large firms now report upwards of $175m in North America; Midsize are between $51m and $174m; Small agencies are $15m to $50m; and Boutique players report fee income of less than $15m. 

Profiles of all the nominated firms, featuring in-depth analysis of each agency's performance, can be found here.

The 2023 North America PR Agencies of the Year are the result of an exhaustive research process involving more than 150 submissions and 50 virtual meetings with the best PR firms across the US and Canada.

Winners are unveiled at the North American SABRE Awards ceremony, which will take place at Cipriani 42nd St on the evening of 2 May. Tickets and tables are available here.

2023 North American PR Agencies of the Year

Large Agencies of the Year
Weber Shandwick 

Midsize Agencies of the Year
H+K Strategies
Ruder Finn
Zeno Group

Small Agencies of the Year
Lippe Taylor
Next Practices Group
Taylor Global

Boutique Agencies of the Year
Cura Strategies
Curley Company
Ink Communications
The TASC Group

Canadian Agencies of the Year
H+K Strategies
North Strategic
Weber Shandwick
Zeno Group

Consumer Agencies of the Year
Citizen Relations
Coyne PR
Havas Formula

Corporate Agencies of the Year 
APCO Worldwide
Fahlgren Mortine
The Levinson Group
Singer Associates

Creative Agencies of the Year 
Current Global
Day One Agency
M Booth

Digital Agencies of the Year
Marathon Strategies
Zapwater Communications

Financial Agencies of the Year
BackBay Communications
FGS Global
Joele Frank
Prosek Partners

Healthcare Agencies of the Year 
GCI Health
Finn Partners
M Booth Health
Real Chemistry
Spectrum Science

Public Affairs Agencies of the Year 
Bryson Gillette
Bully Pulpit Interactive
Global Strategy Group
ROKK Solutions

Technology Agencies of the Year
The Hoffman Agency
Method Communications
PAN Communications
WE Communications